Photo
- - - - -

Japanese Hospital here in the Philippines?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 rogerfederer

rogerfederer

PMD Fellow

• PMD Silver Group
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts

Posted 05 September 2004 - 07:31 PM

http://www.mb.com.ph...4090617839.html

Japanese firm to put up $100-M retirement facility
To build 1,000-bed hospital here

By BERNIE CAHILES-MAGKILAT

Tokushukai Medical Corp., the largest hospital chain in Japan, has committed to put up a 1,000-bed hospital complete with retirement facilities at a cost of $100 million.

This was revealed by Trade and Industry Secretary Cesar V. Purisima saying this was a good start to the government’s effort to position the country as a prime destination for medical care and treatment for overseas patients in need of quality health services.

The Philippines has the potential to develop the health services sector into a $1-billion industry, Purisima said.

"We made a breakthrough in terms of building or starting up our medical and retirement services targetted towards the Japanese market," Purisima said.

But what the government has yet to convince Congress to pass a law allowing Japanese doctors to practice in that Japanese hospital.

The government is planning of declaring medical zones which foreign practitioners are allowed.

By allowing Japanese doctors to practice in that Japanese hospital, the patients become more comfortable in the quality of care because the hospital is run by Japanese doctors.

This will give the Japanese patients the same feeling that they are back home seeking treatment but the difference is they are paying at a lower cost.

"Japan is a rapidly aging country and in 10 years time their average age will be approximately 60 years old and considering that Japanese have the one third of the world savings, they have enough money to pay for our services," Purisima said.