Photo
- - - - -

Journey to MD (please take time to read this) :)

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Lawrence

Lawrence

PMD Intern

• PMD Bronze 2 Group
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 August 2015 - 11:43 PM

Has anyone here experience to work first for a couple of years before going into medicine? I would just want to ask how you manage your time, money, effort, persistence and determination to still continue to med school? I really need your inspiring stories/advice and guidance. That would be such a great help for me and to others who are experiencing the same. By the way let me tell you my story.

I am currently a call center agent, graduated BS Medical Technology. I wasn't able to pass our comprehensive exam last April so our Dean decided not to let me take the board exam this September. I applied as a call center agent for a mean time to be able to earn money so I can be able to take the boards on March 2016. I am not an intelligent student way back, I also failed a lot. Graduating as a Medtech has always been a miracle to me and by the way our school is one of the top schools for medtech in the Philippines despite of low tuition fee (5 to 6k per semester) so they really need to screen out students every semester (incuring 9 units or 3 failed minor subjs) and I am still wondering how I manage to graduate despite of some failing grades. I also grew up in a poor and broken family. Without the help of my grandmother, I surely won't be able to finish my studies because no one will support me since our parents already abandoned us. But I am here, I was able to continue life. This comes to a realization that maybe this is really God's plan for me.